What do India, Sierra Leone, and Israel All Have in Common?

It was a spur of the moment idea: “Lets pretend they’re trading cards,” I said to my sister.

She arched an eyebrow at me, forking another bite of avocado salad (ill named, as the Mexican joint on the Lower East Side had run out of avocados on this day) into her mouth.

I handed her a handful of postcards decorated with the portraits I had completed for our community-arts Kickstarter project, The Ideal Relationship Project. 

She laughed and rolled her eyes. “Fiiiiiine.”

IMG_2292

A few shots in, she’d finally loosened up to become the dramatic, silly-pants I know she can be, and I realized we were onto something. To promote this project successfully, I couldn’t just focus on the product alone, I had to focus on the people who believed in it. Thus, the All-Purpose Postcard Campaign was born.

With no small help from my world-traveling sister, we enlisted backers from India, Sierra Leone, and Israel, who all showed their support by taking photographs of themselves, holding images derived from our project.

I was surprised and touched by the show of support. It’s amazing the sense of connection that has occurred as result of simply asking the question: “What is your ideal relationship?”  At this point, its okay if we don’t make our funding goal, the larger goal has been achieved.

A huge thanks to all our backers around the world! And if you are interested in participating or learning more, please check out our Kickstarter site, and our project website.

With love and gratitude.

Leave a Reply

